Sunday, 26 October 2014

Patient series - Patient 4 Introduction

Patient Number 4 introduction: 

Initial Background Questions:

Please state your age, gender, country of origin and where you live (if different to origin) and how long you have had the condition?

I am 58, female and born / living in Australia. (Melbourne) I am Caucasian and of British descent - Kent and Devon/Cornwall. I first noticed a small lump in my right foot about 12 months ago although both feet have burned at night for about 2 years.

Do you have it in both feet or any hands? 

I have slight thickening of the plantar fascia in the left foot but no fasciitis or fibromatosis in that foot. 

The initial lump has since thickened along the plantar fascia and I am aware of 3 pea sized lumps and one that is much smaller.

Please detail any family history or common risk factors which apply to you:

No other member of my family has either LD or DD. 

I believe I am about  8 kgs over weight.I do not have diabetes or thyroid problem (although other members of my family do).

Please list any treatments you have had, the time since you had them, the progress (or lack of) after treatment and any side effects:

Apart from my Family doctor and podiatrist, I have not consulted any other physician/specialist. This is because my discomfort is minimal and I can't find a specialist who offers anything other than shock therapy to minimise pain (since using the ultrasound therapy at home, I have not experienced what I consider to be pain).

Please detail any other information from your past which you think may be relevant and not covered in the monthly questions:

I have walked extensively (7-10 km daily) for exercise prior to my diagnosis although I did notice that my feet became quite sore and burning after walks and that I could not walk as quickly or easily as I did 2 years ago. 

Monthly Questions:

In the last month have you noticed any changes in the pain or size of the nodules? Or have any new nodules have developed?

In the last month, I have noticed no real change in size and number of nodules. 

Please list a) The maximum pain b) the average pain c) the minimum pain you experienced this month and anything that improved or worsened the pain. 


In the last month what medication or treatments have you had, please describe in as much detail as possible including whether prescribed or home treatment, if applicable where the treatment was administered, by whom, cost (if happy to share) and how this has impacted the condition

Since diagnosis, my lifestyle has changed as follows:
- minimal walking but more cycling 
- very soft shoe inserts from my podiatrist as well as custom made orthotics (not for correction but for soft support under my nodules) 
- instead of about 2 glasses of alcohol a week I now drink very rarely
- I used to take calcium supplements and glucosamine with chondroitin - I no longer do so
- I now take vitamin b6 and b12 supplements
- I have a small handheld ultra sound device which I use on both feet twice daily for 10 minutes

- I drink about 2 tspns apple cider vinegar diluted in a glass of water daily

See above for self treatment. - ultrasound and vitamins. I also stretch my feet and toes each morning before putting my weight on them. The ultrasound device was about $180 Australian dollars. The podiatrist I visit is cheaper through community health ($11.50)) per visit) and orthotics made free by her.

Please describe how the condition has impacted you on a daily basis in the last month and any new steps (not treatments) that you have taken to try and alleviate this impact. 

On a daily basis, I now walk minimally and drive and park as close as possible. I have recently been to the beach and found the stony sand uncomfortable. Next time I will wear surf sandals. I have cancelled long held bush walking plans with friends. 

Please describe the level of exercise that you have been able to achieve this month and any specific diets you have used if you think they have impacted the condition.

I have cycled twice a week for about 20kms during the past month. 

Please list any other information that you think would be useful
Not sure if it is relevant but I am on HRT. 

No comments:

Post a Comment