Friday, 7 November 2014

Patient Series - Patient 9 Introduction

Initial Background Questions:

Please state your age, gender, country of origin and where you live (if different to origin) and how long you have had the condition? 

Aged 57, female, England, Scotland, 4 years

Do you have it in both feet or any hands? 

Both feet

Please detail any family history or common risk factors which apply to you:

No family history or common factors that I am aware of

Please list any treatments you have had, the time since you had them, the progress (or lack of) after treatment and any side effects

RT, August and October 2013

No side effects, little improvement over first three months, then aware that nodules had stopped growing, now feel that they are softer and cause less pain.

Please detail any other information from your past which you think may be relevant and not covered in the monthly questions: 


Monthly Questions:

In the last month have you noticed any changes in the pain or size of the nodules? Or have any new nodules have developed?


Please list a) The maximum pain b) the average pain c) the minimum pain you experienced this month and anything that improved or worsened the pain. 

One or two twinges a week, very little pain

In the last month what medication or treatments have you had, please describe in as much detail as possible including whether prescribed or home treatment, if applicable where the treatment was administered, by whom, cost (if happy to share) and how this has impacted the condition

Visited podiatrist to request a second pair of insoles. They came back a few days later, the arches are slightly higher than the last pair, but I am sure I will get used to them. 

Please describe how the condition has impacted you on a daily basis in the last month and any new steps (not treatments) that you have taken to try and alleviate this impact. 

The combination of recent improvements (as a result of RT?) and orthotics means the condition has little impact on me. Presently on holiday in the Cairngorms, walking 5 - 8 miles a day. 

Friends 60th birthday party - it does make finding dressy/party shoes difficult. Tend to go straight from sandals into boots.

Please describe the level of exercise that you have been able to achieve this month and any specific diets you have used if you think they have impacted the condition.

See above. Been veggie for about 20 years.

Please list any other information that you think would be useful


No comments:

Post a Comment